Alberta Universities

There are six universities in Alberta. All of them offer undergraduate degrees, but only four of them have post-graduate programs. The Ministry of Enterprise and Advanced Education that regulates the post-secondary education in the province. Alberta’s oldest university is the University of Alberta in Edmonton. In 2009, Mount Royal College in Calgary and McEwan College in Edmonton were reclassified as universities. They were both public colleges previously.

All six universities have their own specialty programs. Students who are looking for quality undergraduate programs may enroll in any of them. Most of these schools also offer options for distance learning. In addition, they can proceed to post-graduate education at the University of Alberta, Athabasca University, University of Calgary and University of Lethbridge.

University of Alberta

At present, the University of Alberta has over 200 undergraduate programs, 170 graduate programs and 30 continuing studies programs to choose from.  This public research university was established in 1906 in Edmonton.  UAlberta had an estimated 36,180 students in 2011. Approximately 29,250 of them were in undergrad programs, and 6,930 were doing post-graduate studies. UAlberta is comprised of 15 divisions that include the following.

  • Agriculture, Life and Environmental Sciences
  • Arts
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Law
  • Medicine and Dentistry
  • Native Studies
  • Nursing
  • Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Physical Education and Recreation
  • Rehabilitation Medicine
  • Science
  • School of Business
  • School of Public Health

In addition, UAlberta has a continuing studies division. This includes courses and programs in the fields of contract training and research education, business, arts, languages, health and medicine, political science and open studies. Students also have options for distance education and adult education.

University of Calgary

The University of Calgary was established in 1966 in Calgary. At present, the university has over 85 research institutes and 14 faculties. There are an estimated 23,320 undergraduate student enrollees and 6,540 graduate students.

UCalgary is considered one of the top universities in the province. Its faculties include the medical school and the Schulich School of Engineering. Its veterinary school is the second in western Canada. It opened in 2008. UCalgary also has a School of Architecture that offers bachelor’s and master’s level degrees with accreditation from the Canadian Architectural Certification Board. The University of Calgary faculties include the following.

  • Faculty of Arts with Anthropology and Women’s Studies
  • Faculty of Education for Elementary and Secondary
  • Faculty of Continuing Education
  • Faculty of Graduate Studies
  • Haskayne School of Business with MBA, PhD, BCom and ExecEd degrees
  • Faculty of Kinesiology
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Nursing
  • Schulich School of Engineering
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Social Work
  • Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
  • Banff Centre

Athabasca University

Athabasca University is a public university that offers degree options that include undergraduate, graduate and certificate programs. Most courses are offered in English, and some are in French. Total student enrolment in the university has reached 39,700. There are 36,240 students enrolled in undergraduate programs, and 6,390 are pursuing post-grad studies. The number of students in AU is higher than those enrolled in UAlberta. In fact, the AU is hailed as the fastest growing university in the country.

AU has three campuses. This includes the main campus and extensions in Calgary and Edmonton. The university offers a total of 77 undergraduate programs. AU is also known for its distance education and graduate studies. AU degree programs include the following.

  • Accounting
  • Anthropology
  • Applied Studies
  • Arts
  • Canadian Major Studies
  • Career Development
  • Commerce
  • Communication Major Studies
  • Computers and Management Information Systems
  • Counselling Women
  • Criminal Justice
  • E-Commerce
  • English Language
  • Finance
  • French Language
  • Global Studies
  • Governance, Law and Management Major
  • Health Administration
  • Heritage Resources
  • Nursing
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Public Administration
  • Sociology
  • Women’s and Gender Studies

Grant MacEwan University

MacEwan University was established in 1971 as Grant MacEwan Community College. It was only in 1988 when the university was first allowed to offer transfer credits, and it finally became a full university in 2009. It has total student population of 11,721. All of them attend the university’s undergraduate programs. The school offers degrees in the field of arts, commerce, communications, child and youth care and nursing. At present, there are 68 programs to choose from. Prospective students have options to take part-time, full-time or distance and online courses.

MacEwan University has four faculties that include the Faculty of Health and Community Studies, the Faculty of Arts and Science, the School of Business and the Center for Arts and Communications. The university offers credit and non-credit programs and projects that include the following.

  • 7 Bachelor’s degrees
  • 3 degree-transfer programs
  • 2 applied bachelor’s degrees
  • Over 50 certificate and diploma programs
  • English as Second Language
  • University and college preparation
  • Center for Professional Nursing Education
  • Alberta College Conservatory of Music
  • Professional and Personal Development Workshops and Courses
  • Corporate Training

Mount Royal University

Mount Royal University was established in 1931. It was originally called Mount Royal College and became a full university in 2009. MRU has a total student population of 10,670 in its undergraduate program. At present, it has 13 schools and faculties. It offers four-year baccalaureate degrees and applied degrees, two-year diplomas, one year certificates, university transfers, open studies, academic upgrading, continuing education and eCampus Alberta or  Distance Delivery Courses. Mount Royal University faculties, institutes and schools include the following.

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Bissett School of Business
  • Faculty of Communication Studies
  • Mount Royal Conservatory
  • Faculty of Health and Community Studies
  • Faculty of Science and Technology
  • Faculty of Teaching and Learning
  • Aboriginal Education Program
  • Centre for Child Well-Being
  • Faculty of Continuing Education
  • Institute for Non-Profit Studies
  • Integrative Health Institute
  • Institute of Teaching and Learning
  • International Education and Language Institute

University of Lethbridge

The University of Lethbridge was founded in 1967 in Lethbridge. It offers both graduate and undergraduate programs with a total student population of 8,320. About 300 are enrolled in post-grad programs. ULeth also has campuses in Calgary and Edmonton. ULeth is home to the world class Canadian Centre for Behavioral Neuroscience. In 2004, the school expanded its Ph.D programs to five new areas. This includes earth, space and physical science, biosystems and biodiversity, bio-molecular science, theoretical and computational science and evolution and behavior. ULeth faculties and schools include the following.

  • Humanities
  • Sciences
  • Social Sciences
  • Health Sciences
  • Management
  • Fine Arts
  • Education
  • Special Programs for Applied Studies, Liberal Education, Academic Writing Program and Co-operative Education and Internships
  • School of Graduate Studies
Copyright 2021 degrees.ca